Return to DNSO Review 1 Forum - Message Thread - FAQ

Username: John killoch
Date/Time: Sun, July 22, 2001 at 9:39 PM GMT
Browser: Microsoft Internet Explorer V5.0 using Windows 98
Score: 5
Subject: Apparent speculative capturing of domain names to sell

Message:
 

 
       
   I have just received a set of documents from a company called
WWW.NOMINET.ORG.UK.They appear to be registration documents for a
domain name remarkably similar to my existing company name.

I have a '.com' URL registered in a unique name. No other company
anywhere that I know of, or in any case can find, who comes close to
main constituant of my URL.

I have been told that an alternative URL using my domain name with a
'.co.uk' instead of a '.com' has been reserved via this company.
Reserved for two years.

I have visited their web-site which is at great pains to point out
case law that endorses their action, and within which it is difficult
for me to find out costs, which must exist , without becoming a member
and by, I think, paying a fee.

Being very well known in my community I have no fears about any
significant affect to my business as my properly registered domain
name is well established.

In any case it may be useful for owners of domain names to think about
their situation if they think that their unique  names are at risk of
diminishing effects through some confusion.

I would be interested in any comments.


http://www.mainlybigbands.com/

 


Message Thread: