[Date Prev]   [Date Next]   [Thread Prev]   [Thread Next]   [Date Index]   [Thread Index]

Suggestion for a new top level domain
  • To: <forum@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
  • Subject: Suggestion for a new top level domain
  • Date: Thu, 5 Jun 2003 21:21:40 -0700
  • Importance: Normal

I am a webmaster. I design and host many different websites. My main source of income has come from adult oriented websites and that is why I am taking the time to write this letter.

I have been discussing the issues surrounding the Internet and the adult industry with several of my colleagues and one of our primary concerns was the proliferation of adult sites that make no attempt to stop minors from accessing the content of the site. As a parent, and concerned citizen, I thought about different ways to help identify websites that may contain adult material so that parents, schools and businesses could more readily filter adult material from the plethora of domains out there. The best way I could think of was to create a new top level domain that would identify the site as one that contains material that may not be suitable for minors. After discussing this issue with some of the other adult webmasters I know, we came up with .xxx as a way to identify such sites.