Return to .org Reassignment Forum - Message Thread - FAQ

Username: UnityRegistry
Date/Time: Mon, August 5, 2002 at 12:41 AM GMT
Browser: Microsoft Internet Explorer V6.0 using Windows NT 5.0
Score: 5
Subject: LETS creator supports Unity Registry

Dear ICANN Board,

I am a private mathematician and systems analyst with inventions some of which I publish on www.visualdata.org.uk

My insights are theoretically both commercially exploitable but also highly educational in nature.  Hence I anticipate publishing significant software results as .org.

At the same time, I have created the first LETS (Local Exchange Trading System) in London.  During the last few years I have organised the Forum for Stable Currencies which I publish as www.intraforum.net/money This monetary analysis makes me acutely aware of the profound necessity for balancing organisational with economic power.

Furthermore, I have had most painful experiences with various domain name registration procedures in different countries.

Having just learned about the Unity Registry, I strongly support their
approach for the following reasons:

1) Stability - I would love to be able to host all of my domain names under .org as a coop member.

2) Differentiation & promotion - Unity Registry offers an excellent plan to differentiate .org from commercial domains. All my life has been spent on social rather than commercial gain and I would LOVE to see the Unity Registry practice a healthy balance between 'charity' and 'profit'.

3) Accountability - to share 'profits' among 'members' is the best possible 'commercial practice' in a capitalist system based on 'credit money' and compound interest.