ICANN ICANN Email List Archives

[whois-comments]

<<< Chronological Index >>>    <<< Thread Index >>>

Comment on Purpose of WHOIS

• To: whois-comments@xxxxxxxxx
  • Subject: Comment on Purpose of WHOIS
  • Date: Wed, 8 Feb 2006 17:50:49 -0500

I am a law professor at the University of Ottawa specializing in Internet law. I sit on the board of directors of the Canadian Internet Registration Authority (CIRA), which manages the dot-ca domain, as well as the Public Interest Registry's Global Advisory Council. I offer these comments in my personal capacity and not on behalf of the University of Ottawa, CIRA, or PIR.

Having worked through WHOIS issues as both the ccTLD and gTLD level, I strongly support the first formulation which I think rightly accounts for key issues such as data protection and free speech.

I think it is critical to ensure that the WHOIS policy properly accounts for data protection laws. In Canada, national privacy legislation prohibits the mandatory disclosure of personal information not strictly necessary to provide the service in question. In a WHOIS context, that legislative requirement means that registrations that include personal information (as opposed to corporate registrations) should only require that information strictly necessary to provide the service. Although it may be necessary to collect personal information for billing purposes, there is no need to disclose such information to the broader Internet community. A WHOIS policy that meets the need of the global community must place legal obligations such as data protection laws within its purpose.