ICANN ICANN Email List Archives

[gnso-users]

<<< Chronological Index >>>    <<< Thread Index >>>

Input on the Appropriate Role and Representation of Individual Internet Users

• To: gnso-users@xxxxxxxxx
  • Subject: Input on the Appropriate Role and Representation of Individual Internet Users
  • Date: Wed, 19 Nov 2008 11:02:48 +0200

Dear ICANN

I am writing this in my personal capacity as a privileged African Internet user with experience in both technical implementations of names and numbers and consumer rights policy development. I have 7 years of experience in contributing to ICANN policies and have spent over 3 working months (over 500 hours) in researching this specific issue of individual representation in ICANN.

Firstly, I believe that individuals who may not yet be Internet users also require some representation at ICANN and this group of disenfranchised should not be excluded and I believe that through the ALAC they are not excluded.

1. I do not agree with the approach contained in the WG-GCR proposal; mainly because I do not find it clear and it's complexity is in conflict with it's purpose. i.e. "a non-contracted party house" is itself too complicated for individuals to understand it's purpose... Further, I do not agree that such a party be inclusive of all individuals with an interest in the Internet as this is effectively duplication or replication/replacement of the At Large. This is too complicated.

2. I reject the WG-GCR approach and do agree with the BGC recommendation limiting GNSO membership to registrants – not a more expanded definition of individual Internet users; BUT I believe that such a group must co-exist with the At Large AND