ICANN ICANN Email List Archives

[irt-final-report]

<<< Chronological Index >>>    <<< Thread Index >>>

No! to the Uniform Rapid Suspension System

• To: irt-final-report@xxxxxxxxx
  • Subject: No! to the Uniform Rapid Suspension System
  • Date: Tue, 02 Jun 2009 03:47:55 -0500

As a small business owner, I'm writing this to express my outrage over the new IRT report suggesting the new Uniform Rapid Suspension System. This should go no further. There is both no need for this process and too much room for abuse. There is nothing solved that the current UDRP and the ACPA and the DMCA already handle . Please stop this dead in it's tracks. The purpose of this policy is to "solve the most clear-cut cases of trademark abuses" yet the policy does not describe or define "clear cut cases". Rather it leaves this open-ended. Things left open-ended tend to damage another party. A clear definition is mandatory in this new policy. I would venture to guess that it has been left out because it would be unacceptable to most constituents once defined.

Additionally, the report claims that the policy "is intended to address the hole not filled by current available remedies", namely speed and cost. The speed of shutting down websites that are infringing seems to be a primary concern for the IP constituents. However, for the sake of "efficiencey" this system would "shoot first and asks questions later". While I can sympathize with abuses in domain registration, the processes of the URS gives a claimant a power to shut down a website without any sort of "due process". The idea that someone could file a complaint and shut down my business, over a reported claim, is ludicrous and gives no weight to a domain registrant's concerns of protecting themselves and their business/site.