ICANN ICANN Email List Archives


<<< Chronological Index >>>    <<< Thread Index >>>

Re: [gnso-ppsc] CALL FOR CONSENSUS: Revised Final GNSO Working Group Guidelines

  • To: Avri Doria <avri@xxxxxxx>
  • Subject: Re: [gnso-ppsc] CALL FOR CONSENSUS: Revised Final GNSO Working Group Guidelines
  • From: Stéphane Van Gelder <stephane.vangelder@xxxxxxxxx>
  • Date: Tue, 14 Dec 2010 15:54:41 +0100

Hi Avri,

My understanding is that the charter item you are referencing was put there to 
give the SC some leadership at start-up. So the Council leaders took that 
responsibility until the SC was able to appoint its own leadership.

This has since been done both for the OSC and the PPSC.

As such, I do not see a problem with the Council chair being an observer to 
this SC. But I am happy to be completely removed from the PPSC mailing list if 
that is what the group desires.



Le 14 déc. 2010 à 15:39, Avri Doria a écrit :

> Hi Stéphane,
> In so far as I understand the PPSC's setup, as far as the PPSc is concerned, 
> the chair/v-chair is not designated as a observer. 
> https://st.icann.org/icann-ppsc/index.cgi?ppsc_charter
>> Initially, the PPSC will be comprised of the following members:
>>      • GNSO council chair or vice chair
>>      • 1 representative from each constituency (need not be a Council member)
>>      • 1 Nominating Committee appointee to the GNSO
> Since both of your v-chairs are members in their own right, unless either the 
> RySG and the NCA decide on new reps, I am not sure who can take your place.
> Cheers,
> a.
> On 14 Dec 2010, at 05:24, Stéphane Van Gelder wrote:
>> Jeff,
>> The members list should be updated as far as Chuck and myself are concerned.
>> It is customary for the Council Chair to be included in all WG email list as 
>> an observer. I should therefore be listed as an observer in my capacity as 
>> Chair. As an observer, I am not to be considered an active member of this 
>> group. This means, for example, that the group should not seek my opinion 
>> when calling for consensus on a report.
>> The VCs may be listed as alternate. Jeff, as you are one of the Council VCs 
>> and Chair of the PPSC, and as Olga is already a member of the PPSC, I 
>> suggest that in this case the PPSC do not list an alternate for GNSO Council 
>> representation.
>> Please check with Chuck directly if he would like to stay on the PPSC as 
>> either RySG rep or as an individual.
>> Thanks,
>> Stéphane
>> Le 13 déc. 2010 à 18:02, Neuman, Jeff a écrit :
>>> All,
>>> Please find enclosed the final clean Working Group Work Team Final Report 
>>> (and redline) that incorporates all of the changes agreed to by the PPSC.  
>>> There have been some updates to the background section to reflect the 
>>> current state of the document.
>>> I would like to have affirmative responses from one person from each of the 
>>> constituencies/stakeholder groups of the PPSC by no later than December 
>>> 20th, 2010 to the following questions:
>>> 1.  Do you accept this report to be final and ready to be transmitted to 
>>> the GNSO Council?
>>> 2.  Do you believe we should recommend to the GNSO Council that they 
>>> commence a public comment period prior to acting on the recommendations 
>>> contained within the report?
>>> Although the ALAC does not have a formal “vote”, I still would like to note 
>>> the view of the ALAC representative to the Council when communicating the 
>>> report.  Below is a list of members.  As I am the Registry representative, 
>>> and also the Chair, I would normally delegate the “vote” to my alternate.  
>>> Unfortunately, my alternate is no longer active.  I will therefore see 
>>> advice from our registry rep on the Working Group work team (Caroline 
>>> Greer) and make sure she is comfortable in communicating the registry 
>>> response.
>>> Thanks.
>>> Current Members (updated 18 March 2010):
>>> Organization
>>> Primary
>>> Alternate
>>> Other
>>> BC
>>> Mike Rodenbaugh
>>> Zahid Jamil
>>> IPC
>>> J. Scott Evans (alternate Chair)
>>> Steve Metalitz
>>> ISPC
>>> Tony Harris
>>> Tony Holmes
>>> NCSG
>>> Gabriel Pineiro
>>> Konstantinos Komaitis
>>> Avri Doria
>>> RySG
>>> Jeff Neuman (Chair)
>>> Catherine Sigmar
>>> RrSG
>>> Tim Ruiz
>>> Tom Keller
>>> NCA
>>> Olga Cavalli (GNSO Council Vice-Chair)
>>> GNSO Council
>>> Chuck Gomes (GNSO Council Chair)
>>> Stephane van Gelder (GNSO Council Vice-Chair)
>>> Other Participants in the PPSC:
>>> Liaison
>>> Primary
>>> Alternate
>>> ALAC
>>> Alan Greenberg
>>> Cheryl Langdon-Orr
>>> GAC
>>> Bertrand de la Chappelle
>>> Jeffrey J. Neuman 
>>> Neustar, Inc. / Vice President, Law & Policy
>>> 46000 Center Oak Plaza Sterling, VA 20166
>>> Office: +1.571.434.5772  Mobile: +1.202.549.5079  Fax: +1.703.738.7965 / 
>>> jeff.neuman@xxxxxxxxxxx  / www.neustar.biz     
>>> The information contained in this e-mail message is intended only for the 
>>> use of the recipient(s) named above and may contain confidential and/or 
>>> privileged information. If you are not the intended recipient you have 
>>> received this e-mail message in error and any review, dissemination, 
>>> distribution, or copying of this message is strictly prohibited. If you 
>>> have received this communication in error, please notify us immediately and 
>>> delete the original message.
>>> <GNSO_WG_Guideline_Revised_Final_Clean_10 December 
>>> 2010.doc><GNSO_WG_Guideline_Revised_Final_Redline_10 December 2010.doc>

<<< Chronological Index >>>    <<< Thread Index >>>

Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Cookies Policy