Return to tldapps Forum - Message Thread - FAQ

Username: Cary Karp
Date/Time: Sun, November 5, 2000 at 10:22 PM GMT (Mon, November 6, 2000 at 12:22 AM CEST)
Browser: Microsoft Internet Explorer V5.01 using Windows 98
Score: 5
Subject: International resolution in support of a museum TLD


        The museum TLD application contains the full text of a resolution passed at the Asia-Europe Conference on Museums, 6-9 September 2000, Stockholm, Sweden, urging the International Council of Museums to undertake action towards the creation of this domain.

The application does not contain a full list of the signatories to that resolution. In order to indicate the scope of this support, a list of conference participants is provided here. The attendees at the meeting that approved the statement of support for the .museum initiative differs slightly. Unlisted individuals were present and some of those listed were absent.

- - - - - -

ASEF Asia-Europe Foundation

Mr Cai Rongsheng, Director, Cultural Exchange
Prof Tommy Koh, Executive Director
Mr Pierre Barroux, Deputy Executive Director
Ms Marie Le Sourd


Dr Christian Schicklgruber, Curator for Insular Southeast Asia
Museum für Völkerkunde

Mr Franz Pichorner, Assistant to the Director General,
Kunsthistorisches Museum Vienna (Fine Arts Museum)


Mr Jan Van Alphen, Head of Ethnographisch Museum Zuikerrui

Mr Joris Capenberghs, Royal Museum for Central Africa


Mr Matassim Haji Jibah, Acting Director of Museums Bandar Seri Begawan


Prof Kong Xiangxing, Vice Director, Museum of Chinese History

Mr Meng Xianmin, Director, Museum Department State Administration
of Cultural Heritage 


Mr Espen Wæhle, Head of Ethnographic Collections, National Museum
of Denmark


Mr Asko Mäkelä, Director, Finnish Museum of Photography

Ms Pirjo Varjola, Keeper, Kulttuurien Museo (Museum of Cultures)


Dr Christine Hemmet, Southeast Asia Curator, Musée du Quai Branly

Mr Stéphane Martin, President, Musée du Quai Branly


Prof Dr Wulf Köpke, Director, Hamburgisches Museum für

Dr Adele Schlombs, Director, Museum für Ostasiatische Kunst


Mrs Aglaia Karamanou Arhcaologist, Head of the EPHORIE, Director
of the Museum of Asian Art


Prof Edi Sedyawati, Directorate General for Culture Dept of
Education and Culture

Dr Endang Sri Hardiati, Director, Museum Nasional (Pusat)


Ms Sarah Durcan, Manager, Cruachan Aí Visitors Centre Tulsk

Dr Elaine Wright, Curator of the Islamic Collections The Chester
Beatty Library Dublin Castle


Dr Fiorella Spadavecchia, Director, Museo di Arte Orientale

Patrizia Zolese, Fondazione Ing.C.M.Lerici


Assoc Prof Shin'ichiro Fujio, National Museum of Japanese History

Prof Masatoshi Kubo, Director of the Information and
Documentation Centre, Department of Museums and Anthropology
National Museum of Ethnology


Jong-Dae Kim, Head of Exhibition Division, The National Folk
Museum of Korea

Dr Chong Pil CHOE Director, University Museum; Professor of
Archaeology Sejong University

Prof Yung-Jo Lee, Chairman of Korea Society of Museum Studies,
Professor, Chungbuk National University


Mr Syed Mohamad Albukhary, Director, Islamic Arts Museum

Dr Adi Haji Taha, Deputy Director General, Dept. of Museums &
Antiquities Ministry of Culture, Arts & Tourism


Mr Steven Engelsman, Director, National Museum of Ethnology

Dr Hein Reedijk,  Director, Wereldmuseum Rotterdam

Mr Jan Willem van Rijnberk, Head, Communications Department


Dr Florina Capistrano-Baker, Director, Ayala Museum

Mr Fr Gabriel Casal, Director, IV National Museum of the


Ms Filipa Cruz Martins, Collection Management, Fundação Oriente

Ms Maria Antónia Aleixo Pinto de Matos, Director, Casa-Museu
Dr. Anastácio Gonçalves, Portuguese Intitute of Museums

Dr João Castel-Branco Pereira, Director, The Calouste Gulbenkian


Mr Lim Siam Kim, Chief Executive Officer, National Heritage Board

Dr Kenson Kwok, Director, Asian Civilisations Museum

Mr Pitt Kuan Wah, Deputy Director, National Archives of Singapore

Mr Alan Rubenstein, Vice President, LaSalle-SIA College of the


Mr Juan Ignacio Vidarte, Director General, The Guggenheim Museum

Mr Antoni Nicolau Director, Museu d'Historia de la Ciutat


Dr Magnus Fiskesjö, Director, Museum of Far Eastern Antiquities

Ms Elisabet Lind, Senior Curator, South East Asian and Oceanian
Collections, The National Museum of Ethnography

Prof Thommy Svensson, Director General, Swedish National Museums
of World Culture

Ms Marita Ulvskog, Minister of Culture, Swedish Ministry of

Ms Agneta Österlund, Secretary, Swedish National Museums of World

Ms Anna Källén, Museum of Far Eastern Antiquities


Dr Pisit Charoenwongsa Director, SPAFA

Ms Pen Pan Jarernporn Senior Lecturer, Faculty of Archaeology,
Silpakorn University

Ms Somlak Charoenpot, Director of the National Museum of His
Majesty the King's Golden Jubilee, Fine Arts Department


Ms Winifred Glover, Curator, Dept of Archaeology & Ethnography,
Ulster Museum, National Museums and Galleries of Northern Ireland
Botanic Gardens

Dr John Mack, Senior Keeper, The Ethnography Department, British


Dr Dang Van Bai, Director, Dept of Conservation & Museology,
Ministry of Culture & Information

Prof Nguyen Van Huy, Director, Vietnam Ethnology Museum (Musée
d'Ethnographie du Vietnam Dich Vong)

Mr Pham Quoc Quan, Director, The Vietnam History Museum Ministry
of Culture and Information

Mr Nguyen Quang Long, Expert, The Centre for Cooperation on Press
and Comunication, Ministry of Culture and Information



Dr Amareswar Galla, Chairperson, ICOM Asia Pacific Organisation


Ms Sara Delaney, Executive Assistant Asia IT&C


Ms Jennifer Thévenot, Programme Activities Officer, International
Council of Museums (ICOM)


Mr Thongsa Sayavongkhamdy, Director General, Department of
Museums and Archaeology, Ministry of Information and Culture

Mr Chanpheng Phaadthaphane, Lciang prabang Museum, Ministry of
Information and Culture, Department of Museums and Archaeology  


Dr Per B. Rekdal, Head of Exhibitions, Education and Public
Services, University Museums of Cultural Heritage, Oslo


Ms Margareta Alin, Director, Kulturen, Museum of Cultural
History, Lund

Dr Cary Karp, Director, Department of Information Technology,
Swedish Museum of Natural History

Ms Elisabet Olofsson, SAMP

Swedish National Museums of World Culture:
Per Kåks
Peter Skogh
Karl Magnusson
Cecilia Lindqvist
Ms Christina Rogestam

The National Museum of Ethnography:
Sven-Erik Isacsson
Per-Olof Lejon
Kristian Lagercrantz
Håkan Wahlquist
Nina Suatan

The Museum of Mediterranean and Near Eastern Antiquities:
Sanne Houby-Nielsen
Karin Ådal
Suzanne Unge-Sörling
Marie-Louise Winbladh

World Culture Museum:
Jan Amnehäll
Annika Aurell
Magnus Dahlbring
Ann Follin

Museum of Far Eastern Antiquities:
Birgitta Hansson-Sidvall


Message Thread:

Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Cookies Policy