Return to tldapps Forum - Message Thread - FAQ

Username: bmcarson
Date/Time: Fri, November 3, 2000 at 11:14 PM GMT (Fri, November 3, 2000 at 5:14 PM CST)
Browser: Netscape Communicator V4.5 using Windows 95
Score: 5
Subject: Support for .law proposal

My name is Bryan Carson, and I am writing in support of the .law top level domain proposal.  I am the Coordinator of Reference and instructional Services at Western Kentucky University and the Warren County (Kentucky) Law Library.  I am also an attorney who is licensed to practice law in Kentucky and Ohio.

Creation of a .law top-level domain would make legal research far more accessible to attorneys, librarians, and the general public.  I believe that the establishment of a .law top level domain name would empower people, giving them a place to go to look for legal content.  Legal research is one of the most popular types of research on the Internet.  Currently, there are a number of portals that users can go to, and several legal search engines.  However, a .law domain would provide a scheme whereby everyone could find what they needed quickly and efficiently.

One of the biggest barriers to the effective use of the Internet is the uncataloged nature of "Cyberspace."  The institution of a .law scheme would in effect be a way of cataloging legal sites for easy retrieval.

Creation of a .law TLD will directly benefit all users of the Internet by providing a forum for credible content with accurate searching and access to rich community oriented sites.  Currently legal content on the Internet is fractionated across unrestricted top level domains such as .com, .org, .edu, and .net. These domains are unregulated and sites vary widely in their quality of content. Retrieval of legal information from the myriad of locations by conventional search engines is incomplete and relatively non-specific.