This Comment Forum is now closed.

ICANN Public Comment Forum

Definition of Geographic Regions

ICANN's bylaws emphasize the importance of geographic diversity for the ICANN Board of Directors. The bylaws divide the world's countries, territories, and distinct economies into five regions (Africa, Asia/Australia/Pacific, Europe, Latin America/Caribbean islands, and North America) and provide that "[t]he specific countries included in each Geographic Region shall be determined by the Board, and this Section shall be reviewed by the Board from time to time (but at least every three years) to determine whether any change is appropriate, taking account of the evolution of the Internet." A comprehensive definition of the regions is now necessary in connection with this year's At Large membership election.

At its July 2000 meeting in Yokohama, the Board will making an updated, and more specific, definition.

For full background information, please click here.

Comments through Tuesday, 11 July 2000

0 Fresh + 0 New + 27 Old = 27 Total headers

Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Cookies Policy